Tuesday, 20 October 2009

Univers Zero - Heatwave (1986)

Following on from there "Uzed" album Univers Zero continue in a similar vein here - at least on side one with the shorter tracks in dark experimental RIO territory. These pieces are all really excellent.

Side 2 is a different matter , at least in my books. "The Funeral Plain" is in my opinion there best piece ever, a side long epic treat which builds to such intensity ( much like "Magma's "De Futura") with furious drums , winds, piano etc marching in an utterly out of this world intensity, that it's quite literally earthshaking. This has to be heard to be believed - in my opinion "Univers Zero's" masterpiece.

Songs / Tracks Listing
1. Heatwave (8:34)
2. Chinavox (4:49)
3. Bruit dans les murs (8:25)
4. The Funeral Plain (20:24)

Total Time: 42:12
Line-up / Musicians
- Michel Delory / guitar
- Daniel Denis / drums, percussion, voice
- Dirk Descheemaeker / clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano sax
- Christian Genet / bass, nailskake
- Patrick Hanappier / violin, viola
- Andy Kirk / piano, synthesizer, voice
- Jean-Luc Plouvier / piano, synthesizer, voice

Univers Zero - The funeral plain (pt.1)

Univers Zero - The funeral plain (pt.2)

Univers Zero - The funeral plain (pt.3)

Post a Comment

Thinglink Plugin