Monday, 26 July 2010

Wayinetula - A Dream within A Dream (1983)

Based on the works of Edgar allan Poe ' A Dream Within a Dream' is similar in concept, but much more symphonic rock based, and not in my opinion as creative or evocative , as the 'Alan Parsons Project' outing ,which is certainly more varied than what we have here.

The music is very tightly played though and quite polished with very good vocals. On occasion i'm reminded of some Eloy on some of the tracks and even a little ' Pancake' from say there 'Ashes' release.

Not exactly a classic, but lovers of a more straighter styled symphonic prog rock should really like this album and it does grow on you.

Songs / Tracks Listing
1. The Foreboding (4:24)
2. Alone (6:19)
3. Feathery Bird (4:57)
4. Valley of Unrest (7:06)
5. A Dream Within a Dream (4:57)
6. Song of Master and Boardswain (4:39)
7. If I Could Tell You (3:49)
8. Dreamland (5:37)
9. Yessertronics (3:40)
Bonus tracks
10. Vision (4:21)
11. Light my Fire (Doors)(7:35)
12. Lindis farm (8:36)

Total Time: 76:08
Line-up / Musicians - Heinz Kühne / guitar, vocals
- Herman Beckert / bass
- Stephan Remes / drums, vocals
- Norbert Abels / keyboads

Feathery Bird

Tuesday, 20 July 2010

Ashra - Blackouts (1977)

Fronted by guitarist Manuel Gottsching ,Ashra was his solo project continuation from the previous classic Ashra Tempel. This album  features only himself on all instruments.

This is mostly a very enjoyable mix of spacey/ rhyhtmic guitars and sequencers with mostly short tracks. The lengthier Lotus stretches things out and on occasion resembles Tangerine Dream.

All in all a very effective album and definitely one of the best. Especially recommended to anyone who loves the works of say Tangerine dream.

Songs / Tracks Listing
1. 77 Slightly Delayed (6:42)
2. Midnight On Mars (6:50)
3. Don't Trust The Kids (3:30)
4. Blackouts (4:18)
5. Shuttle Cock (8:25)
6. Lotus Part I - IV (16:58)

Total Time: 46:46

Saturday, 10 July 2010

Zamla Mammaz Manna - Familejesprickor ( 1980)

The farewell album by Swedens premium RIO band sees them out in a blaze of glory. Probably there most complex and awesome album to date with a quirkyness and playfull attitude which is unique to this band and is nowhere near as dark as say 'Univers Zero' or ' Henry Cow'

A stunning masterpiece with as ever exemplary musicianship.

Songs / Tracks Listing 1. Five Single Combats (5:52)
2. Ventilation Calculation (5:05)
3. The Forge (5:04)
4. The Thrall (5:05)
5. The Panting Short Story (3:52)
6. Pappa (with right of veto) (4:27)
7. The Farmhand (7:33)
8. Kernel in Short and Long Castling (5:40)
Line-up / Musicians
- Lars Hollmer / keyboards, accordion, song
- Eino Haapala / guitar, song
- Lars Krantz / bass, song
- Vilgot Hansson / drums, percussion
- Hans Bruniusson / drums, and some percussion on "Pappa"

Zamla Mammaz Manna - The Forge

The Farmhand / Zamla Mammaz Manna

Download mp3

Sunday, 4 July 2010

Thierrey Zaboitzeff - Sequences ( Winds of Sand Women of Rock) 2010

Probably ex Art Zoyds main mans most accessible album to date. Mostly very short instrumental pieces here which challenge and delight with much ethno/ african sampled sounds which recalls his 'India' album in many respects. He has dropped his vocals too on this album which i feel would have been out of context here anyway!

For anyone not familiar with Zaboitzeffs work this album would be a great way as of introduction to his unique world of music, however, the music here does not  dive as deep  as what can be found elsewhere.

The First Caravan
Across The Dunes

Thinglink Plugin