Friday, 17 July 2009

Arzachel ( 1969 )

This album seemed to have escaped my attention until just recently. I,m glad i discovered it though as this is really something special in the space rock psychedelic genre.

Arzachel was the earliest formation of STEVE HILLAGE and DAVE STEWART , which apparently at the time were also known as URIEL. HILLAGE was only 17 when he played guitar on this and the other members were of a similar age too. Being so young you might think this one and only album to be under par to the greater things yet to come by some of these band members. Not so!!! This is a surprisingly mature work musically in every sense. Featuring some of the most explosive and tripped out psychedelia your likely to ever hear.Certainly right up there with the very best , like a mixture of all the best parts of EGG, GONG, NATIONAL HEALTH., CARAVAN, PINK FLOYD and even some early STEAMHAMMER on track 5 ' Clean innocent fun.

Overall this album is a masterpiece with hardly any low points. The climactic ' Metempsychosis ' is one log fantastic jam. Alternating between slow and fast passages with HILLAGE andSTEWART duelling it out as it were and ending in blasts of distorted organ.

Amazing that the entire album was recorded in one session in one day. A brilliant album for sure. Don't miss out on it as long i have!!

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Garden of Earthly Delights (2:40)
2. Azathoth (4:11)
3. Queen Street gang (4:20)
4. Leg (5:31)
5. Clean innocent fun (10:24)
6. Metempsychosis (16:19)

Total Time: 43:25

Line-up / Musicians

- Basil Dowling (Clive Brooks) / drums
- Njerogi Gategaka (Mont Campbell) / bass, vocals
- Sam Lee-Uff (Dave Stewart) / organ
- Simeon Sasparella (Steve Hillage) / guitar, vocals

Post a Comment

Thinglink Plugin