Sunday, 11 October 2009

Fermata - Huascaran (1977)

Probably Fermata's best album. More progressive and varied than there previous two, this is a concept album based on the earthquake in Peru which claimed some 80,000 lives in the vicinity of Huascaran.

Beginning with birdsong and tranquil atmosphere, i guess this is the calm before the storm so to speak. The opener is the longest track here and epic stuff it is too with several changes in mood. Once again the highlights are the awesome guitarwork and we have some mournful violin and great bass and drums. The dialogues between synths and guitar is stunning and is sometimes like Mahavishnu John Mclaughlin.

This is an essential album for all jazz rock/ progressive rock fusion fans. A classic!!

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Huascaran I (13:41)
2. 80 000 (7:30)
3. Solidarity (6:34)
4. Huascaran II (11:13)

Total Time: 38:58

Bonus tracks on Opus re-issue (1996):
5. 15 (4:03)
6. Valparaiso (6:09)
7. Perpetuum (2:17)

Line-up / Musicians - Tomás Berka / piano, synthesizer
- Frantisek Griglák / guitar, piano, synthesizer
- Ladislav Lučenič / bass
- Karol Oláh / drums, percussion
- Peter Oláh / vocals
- Dezider Pito / violoncello

Fermata - Solidarity

No comments:

Thinglink Plugin